Anna University, Chennai

Anna University, Chennai

Anna University was established on 4th September 1978 as a unitary type of
University. This University was named after Late Dr.C.N.Annadurai, former Chief Minister
of Tamil Nadu. It offers higher education in Engineering, Technology, Architecture and
Applied Sciences relevant to the current and projected needs of the society. Besides
promoting research and disseminating knowledge gained therefrom, it fosters cooperation
between the academic and industrial communities.
The University was formed by bringing together and integrating four well known
technical institutions in the city of Madras (now Chennai):

College of Engineering (CEG) (Established in 1794)
Alagappa College of Technology (ACT) (Established in 1944)
Madras Institute of Technology (MIT) (Established in 1949)
School of Architecture & Planning (SAP) (Established in 1957)

The University is situated in the southern part of the city of Chennai. The
University's Main Campus extends over 189 acres abutting the Adyar River on the north
and Raj Bhavan on the south. The Madras Institute of Technology at Chrompet constitutes
the second campus of the University which extends over 52 acres. A third campus
extending over 5 acres is located at Taramani, Chennai. These campuses have a variety
of buildings serving the various needs of the University community.
In 2001, Anna University was converted to an affiliating type University by bringing
together all the Engineering colleges in the State of Tamil Nadu and was again
reconverted to the unitary type in 2010.

In 2012, Anna University was again converted to
an affiliating type of University by bringing together all the Engineering Colleges in the
State of Tamil Nadu under one umbrella to ensure uniform quality in engineering

Back to list